top of page

Water birth: an unforgettable experience

Updated: Nov 16, 2020

When I think of water births, I think of a serene environment. An moment in which you are one with the water. Your body floats as your weightless form is supported by the laws of buoyancy. Your contracting pelvis ebbs and flows with the ripples of the waves. You are one with nature as your body is free to do what nature intended. Birth your baby. I know, I know... this view may seem a bit flighty for some, but I entered the realm of birthing seeing it for the beautiful miracle that it is. Even after having the following experiences, the feeling remains the same.



It was with this mindset that I approached all my friends and expectant Mothers that came to me with questions or concerns about birthing in the water. This was also the mindset with which I approached my own water birth experience. I was all set to breathe and float my way into motherhood. I was 40 weeks and 6 days when I first felt the first seemingly unending clench of my abdomen. It was about half past midnight and I was lying/resting against my pillow mountain. I was excited! It was finally happening! I debated on starting the snacks trays and the herbal teas I wanted to serve for my Midwife and birth team. I toyed with the idea of running my home through another fit of cleanliness before the baby arrives. In the end, I ended up just laying there. Because in my wonderings I realized, these clenches were not stopping. They were about 25 minutes apart but BOY were they present! So I drifted to sleep on my pillow mountain and got what I would later find out was MUCH needed rest.


I woke up hours later to lower back pains. Much like what I'd experience with my monthly Moon. The main difference was that the intensity of it all was just a touch above the norm. I kept warm, rested and ate well under the guidance of my Aunt, who had come to assist my home birth. It was much later, after rounds of stretching, gyrating and breathing through increasing contractions; that I felt the need submerge myself, in the birthing pool to ease my growing tensions. While the water was buoyant and freeing, it was not as warm as I would have liked and therefore I did not last long in this environment. I quickly adjusted to the situation and repositioned myself on the couch. I journeyed through the motherhood threshold on dry land. I spent the better part of my journey in a meditative embrace with my husband. It was a life changing experience.

I still value the oneness of energy that can be found in birthing in the water. I carried on this hope to one of my future birthing Mothers. She, like me, is a fellow Doula, Mother, herbalist and curator of her own black girl magic. I was elated to hear her birth plans include preparations for a waterbirth. She was an ideal client for me and our energies flowed from our first family meet up to her beautiful birth as she journeyed to the secondary realm of motherhood.


We journeyed through with hip swaying, rotations and pelvic circles on the ball. Until finally she was moved to enter the water.

The support system was steadfast in making sure the water was kept warm and cozy. My birthing Mommy was allowed to submerge and sync her body with the water as she flowed with the waves of pressure that coaxed her pelvis open. To raise the bar on the Love hormones flowing about, her husband joined her in the birthing pool. I love to encourage partners to have an active role in birthing their babies. I tell them, the same energy used to create this baby, is the same energy needed to birth them. Hubby joining Mommy in the pool allowed for a more heightened experience and allowed the birthing Mom to feel supported on all fronts.


This experience was nothing short of amazing. Mommy surrendered her body in that moment and let nature take its course. Despite not fully experiencing it personally, it was an honor to serve as a Monitrice, Doula and friend for this courageous and awesome Mother. Making this truly, an unforgettable experience.



24 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page